Register for FREE to read this article.

Already have an account?

You have article views left.
Register for FREE to read more articles.

Already have an account?

Remind me next time

It’s that time of year again. The nights are closing in and one of the annual events we all look forward to is approaching this month, that is of course, the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2020.

Although this year has not been the sport spectating year we had all hoped, there has still been some fantastic contenders that carried on achieving greatness despite many interruptions caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

Sports Personality of the Year Betting Odds

The bookies favourite to win the award is Lewis Hamilton at 2/5. A frequent nominee for BBC Sports Personality of the Year, Lewis Hamilton wrote his name into the history books as one of Formula One’s all-time greatest drivers after equalling Michael Schumacher’s record of seven F1 titles.

Also, Lewis Hamilton holds the record for the most pole positions and has a total of 91 grand prix victories.

A winner back in 2014, Lewis Hamilton looks set to add is name to Andy Murray, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill and Henry Cooper as a multiple winner for BBC SPOTY.

Ronnie O’Sullivan is the second favourite at 5/1 to pick up the award this year. Ronnie won his sixth world title this year and has now secured his place as one of snooker’s greatest players. He has banked 37 events and 20 Triple Crown event titles, more than anyone else in history.

A man who transcends the world of snooker, Ronnie O’Sullivan is still making headlines nearly 3 decades into his career. If you’re looking for an outside bet worth a shot, then Ronnie looks to be the value bet in the Outright Market.

Jordan Henderson places in the bookies top three at 8/1. As well as being capped 58 times for England, Jordan Henderson led Liverpool to win their first Premier League title since 1990 with a margin of 19 points. This is of the back of a Champions League winning campaign the season before.

Tyson Fury, known as the Gypsy King, is in the bookies top four at 16/1. Tyson Fury became a two-time world heavyweight champion and his victory was another step of his extraordinary comeback after battling drugs and depression.

Hollie Doyle has had a fantastic year. She broke her own record for the number of winners ridden by a British woman in one year.

Some of her other achievements in this past year include her first victory at Royal Ascot, Doyle has claimed five winners on the same card as well as riding a historic double on British Champions Day.

If Hollie Doyle wins SPOTY 2020 she would join Sir Anthony McCoy as the second winner from the sphere of racing. Hollie is in the bookies at 20/1.

Finally, the long shot outsider, Stuart Broad hit a huge milestone in his cricketing career this year. Broad returned for the final two Tests versus the West Indies in style.

Stuart Broad took 16 wickets and passed 500 for his, so far thriving, career. There have been some great cricketers in the past to win this award like his fellow team mate, Ben Stokes, who won last years. Stuart Broad is in the bookies at 200/1.

Sports Personality of the Year Nominees

This year for the Sports Personality of the Year, the nominees are:

  1. Stuart Broad – Cricket
  2. Hollie Doyle – Horse Racing
  3. Tyson Fury – Boxing
  4. Lewis Hamilton – Formula 1
  5. Jordan Henderson – Football
  6. Ronnie O’Sullivan – Snooker

There will be other awards to be announced, but not going unmentioned, Manchester United’s forward, Marcus Rashford will receive a special award in recognition of his wonderful work to raise awareness of child food poverty in the UK.

Sports Personality of the Year Date

Although there will not be a crowd this year at the ceremony due to the pandemic, voting this year will open to the general public during the Sports Personality programme on BBC1 on Sunday 20th December 2020. The show will be broadcasted from Media City in Salford, Manchester.

Sports Personality of the Year Hosts

This year presenting the BBC SPOTY, alongside the Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan, will be football pundit Alex Scott where all hosts will look back on a very abnormal sporting year in front of a massive virtual audience with millions of BBC 1 viewers.

Sports Personality of the Year Favourite

The bookies favourite is F1 driver Lewis Hamilton at 2/5. Lewis Hamilton equalled Michael Schumacher’s F1 title record (7 and now holds the record for the most pole positions and exceeded Schumacher’s total of 91 grand prix victories).

Sports Personality of the Year Winners

The SPOTY has been around since 1954, and it celebrated its 65th anniversary in 2019. Here is a reminder of the previous ten winners:

  1. AP McCoy – 2010
  2. Mark Cavendish – 2011
  3. Sir Bradley Wiggins – 2012
  4. Andy Murray – 2013
  5. Lewis Hamilton – 2014
  6. Andy Murray – 2015
  7. Andy Murray – 2016
  8. Mo Farah – 2017
  9. Geraint Thomas – 2018
  10. Ben Stokes – 2019

If Hollie Doyle wins Sports Personality of the Year 2020, she will be the first female to win the award in 14 years since Zara Phillips who won it in 2006. The past five previous females who have won this award are:

  1. Zara Phillips – 2006
  2. Dame Kelly Holmes – 2004
  3. Paula Radcliffe – 2002
  4. Liz McColgan – 1991
  5. Fatima Whitbread - 1987

Sports Personality of the Year 2020 Betting Tips